A memorable ride

It’s not every day I cycle past an ex nuclear weapon site , but I did on Saturday 18th March 2017. The best thing about it is I knew there was a disused World War 2 American aerodrome near to the village of Harrington , but what I didn’t know was until the early 1960’s it was an active base that housed Thor nuclear weapons that were the UK’s main nuclear deterrent at the time. I have cycled past the Harrington Airfield Memorial site on the Lamport to Harrington road many times but have never taken the time to actually stop and have a look at it like I did on this ride .

harrington2

 

I also added an extra 7 mile loop to one of my normal routes by turning right just as I entered the little hamlet of Orton that took me down to the A6 turning on the A14 by Rothwell once over the A14 I turned towards Harrington straight into a head wind and with a slight gradient the next couple of miles were a bit slower than the previous 15 miles had been .

harrington

 

Harrington was still asleep as I rode through but then most villages are at 6.45am on a Saturday morning. Once clear of the village I noticed a turning right to Kelmarsh and noted that as a loop for another day . I carried on across the A14 and noticed the turning off that would take you directly to the Carpetbagger Aviation Museum which is open between Easter and October according to the little sign outside .

harrington5

 

I carried on and joined my normal route just before the war memorial site where I stopped to have a look and take some pictures . Once back on the Terry Dolan bike I headed off towards Draughton and then Lamport , Scaldwell , Holcot , Moulton ,Overstone,Sywell ,Mears Ashby ,Earls Barton ,Great Doddington and back into Wellingborough .

Dolan2

 

As mentioned earlier this ride was done on my recently acquired Kinesis tubed Terry Dolan from around the year 2000.  It looks like it has had an easyish life prior to me getting hold of it . It’s finished in a nice wine shade of red with a fantastic looking set of chunky alloy forks and a very free rolling set of Gipiemme Quattro wheels that have just been fitted with a new set of Vittorio Rubino tyres .

dolan1

Dolan

 

The longest ride I have done on this bike previously was just over 30 miles and I wanted to cover a minimum of 40 miles on this ride so I could get a true feeling of the bike and all of its components before deciding what its future will be . So far I feel it’s a very nice bike to ride and all its mixture of shimano components work well together to provide a very capable bike indeed . It’s a shame it hasn’t got proper mudguard mounting points but a set of clip ons do the job when its being used in dry to slightly damp conditions as I have enough other bikes fitted with full guards .

100_7458

 

Over the next couple of weeks weather permitting I would like to do at least one more 40+ mile ride on this machine then I will make decision on its future .

4 thoughts on “A memorable ride

  1. You are lucky to have such a interesting museum on your doorstep, and i think it will be worth a visit and what better way of getting there, than by one of your stable of Retro bikes .The Carpet Baggers were a special unit formed to drop agents and supplies to resistance groups in europe in WW2, the Thor missle was an American made weapon operated by the RAF there is a similar site near Melton Mowbray in Leicestershire

Leave a Reply

