Ribble 7005 Audax

have been using this Ribble Audax framed bike for the last week and a bit .

100_7458

It’s an alloy 56cm frame with a set of ITM Spider carbon forks and over the last week I have done quite a bit of work on it to get it running smoothly , whilst I have been doing the work I have also done a few rides on it .

100_7459

 

I have swapped the previous wheels out for a set of quando hubbed units that spin a bit more freely and don’t wobble like the original set, whilst doing this I also replaced the original 12 – 24 rear cassette for one that gives me a better spread of ratio’s i.e. 12 – 30 and a new sram chain to match. I have also replaced the rear gear mechanism cable as the original one had signs of fraying within the sti unit head and finally I tidied up the bar tape by unwinding and re fitting .

100_7463

 

The first few rides were only short commuting rides and then as I gained confidence I increased the miles to the point of doing a couple of 40 mile rides on the last 2 weekends, I am looking forward to doing a few more miles on it . It’s a very smooth riding machine and I also think it’s a rather nice looking bike , the red paintwork is nice and bright, however it does have a few signs of cable rub and general storage marks that the vast majority of bikes pick up as they go along .

100_7475

 

Its nicely specified with a mix of Shimano components i.e. “Yellow” 105 sti units and front mechanism with a Sora double chain set and rear mechanism and it has the handy benefit of being fitted with full length SKS guards to help keep me dry whilst riding in the rain which is always a bonus when riding bikes in the UK .

100_7466

 

The previous owner told me he had owned it from new but it had seen little use in the last 8 years due to one reason or another and as he needed to thin out his collection the ones that were not getting much use were first in the line to go , so once a price was agreed the bike was collected before he changed his mind . I got the impression It was initially his do it all winter / wet weather bike .

100_7469

 

I have heard and seen loads of comments from other riders about how nice these Ribble Audax / Winter frames are to ride so it was with great interest that I looked forward to doing some miles on it and so far I have not been disappointed at all . What are my long term plans for it?  Well I don’t really know yet as I am happy  riding and covering miles on this machine .

Leave a Reply

