Do I go left or right ?

As I approach the junction at the top of the Mad Mile I quite often think shall I go left or right ?

 

I sometimes base my decision on the direction of the wind as I ride up the Mad Mile , and go in the direction that gives me a tail rather than a head wind . This will normally mean that if I am doing a circular route then the last bit should also have a tail wind but as we all know rides and weather never go to plan .

shadow

 

One of my favorite rides is a right turn at Moonshine Gap then along to Little Harrowden where I head through Orlingbury , Pytchley , Broughton and up to Loddington before continuing to Orton then cutting across towards the American Airforce Monument before turning right and heading to Draughton and then up to the outskirts of Lamport Village where I bear left and descend Scaldwell Road before turning a sharp right and heading up to and through Scaldwell which is where we watched the 2016 Ladies tour go through .

100_3652

Ladies tour

 

 

Once clear of Scaldwell I head along to the road that runs between Holcot and Brixworth and I quite often stop on the promenade at Pitsford Water to take in the view and to listen to the birds that are around at the time . At the cross roads in Holcot I turn right and head towards Moulton and then go straight across the A43 towards Overstone and Sywell and then past the airfield and Beckworths Emporium and through Moonshine Gap to the top of the Mad Mile .

 

cb9

Claud Butler Sierra

All in all the above circular route is approximately 32 miles with loads of options to reduce or increase its distance by taking different turns , there are a few short climbs but nothing major, and fairly light on traffic as well . But then my normal time of riding is to start before 6 am so that I can get back before the family day starts .

sixoclockbook

Leave a Reply

