The times are a changing

The average age of my fleet is changing a lot lately. What with a 2014 Bmc Racemachine , 2014 Genesis Cdf , turn of the Century Principia RS6 and a Terry Dolan kinesis framed road bike from around the same era ,  you can see all of these are at least 15 – 20 years newer than my normal arrivals .

 

16425861_1355891471130152_2161489458588694037_n

Principia RS6

 

So far the most miles have been done on the Genesis cdf which has been in my fleet the longest of all the above bikes , next up is the Principia then the Bmc and finally this week’s arrival the Dolan which has so far only been used for a total of 3.5 commuting miles . It would have been used for a few more but the reach is just too long in its present set up plus the front brake was making a severe graunching noise .

 

dolan

Terry Dolan Kinesis Frame

 

The Bmc is waiting for dry roads before it gets any more miles on it , so that could be a few weeks before it sees daylight at this rate . The Principia had its first double figure ride last Sunday covering a total of 29 miles just short of my targeted 30 mile ride , and should hopefully get at least one more double figure ride this weekend . In its current set up I found it very comfortable indeed and since then I have fitted one of my Selle smp lite 209 saddles that I try and use most of the time .

smp-selle-lite-209-

 

The Dolan is awaiting a stem extender as the way the forks have been cut leave the bars too low for me. Once that arrives I will have a play and find a shorter stem then swap the bars and sti units over and then I can cover a few more miles on it before deciding on its future . From the miles I have ridden it so far I can say for sure it felt nice and smooth and not as harsh as some people say about alloy framed road bikes . It’s always hard to get a true feel of a bike on such a short ride especially more so when the setup is far from ideal for the rider in question .

 

dolan1

Terry Dolan

 

It certainly is a pretty looking bike for sure and deserves to be ridden and admired by others . I am a bit of a sucker for a red bike with chrome forks just have a look at my Ian May , not sure what it is but there is something about red paint and chrome for me .

imay3

Ian May

 

3 thoughts on “The times are a changing

  1. Obviously, you are going through “the change” and it’s a good thing. 😉 I have a few years (about a generation), but still appreciate the differences between the old or historical and the modern whether it be cars, bikes, movies, music or technology. Sometimes I just want to ride a fast, efficient bike without having to think about the nuances of shifting or how effective the brakes are. Other times I prefer to focus on the mechanics of the ride. I spent the majority of my working life in the industry that produces integrated circuits or computer chips, which, drives my interest in technology. So, enjoy your discoveries and experiences.

    Cheers,

    Van

      • Amen to that. There is nothing more esthetically appealing than a skinny tubed bike frame especially nice lugs and an interesting paint scheme. I forgot to mention earlier that you’ve had the opportunity to experience some fine machinery as well as providing this to others.

        Cheers,

        Van

Leave a Reply

