1950’s Pollard Confirmed

I am sure a few of my blog readers will have already seen my Facebook post on Racing Bike Biggs682 facebook page about how my Pollard has been confirmed as either a 1954 or 1955 built machine .

 

13557661_1099336113471886_7080700290012916296_n

Pollard

 

Also confirmed was that it has Oscar Egg lugs, seat stays that are tapered at both ends, a frame number in the correct place and the right number of digits and like the vast majority of Pollards it was built with Reynolds 531 tubing . I was never in doubt it was a genuine Pollard but just wanted to get it direct from the horse’s mouth if possible so I contacted what I hoped was a gentleman that bought an ex Vic Clarke Pollard frameset from me a few years ago who is also in contact with Eddie Pollard, the son of William Pollard .

pol13

Pollard Fastback

Luckily enough my contact hadn’t changed his e mail address etc etc and he received my e mail and came back asking for some pictures showing the headstock and saddle clamp areas . Once these were forwarded to him he responded within 24 hours confirming the above and stated that it was well worth restoring . Now this puts me in a quandary as I don’t mind riding a bike that has loads of patina and shows its knocks and bruises with pride .

wp_20160629_005

POLLARD

Sadly over the years a lot of the original parts have been replaced with newer ones and some of these were removed when I started its recommissioning a few months ago . When I picked it up it had a Custom crankset and a mixed set of wheels ie a 27” clincher type front wheel and a 700c tub and sprint rear wheel , these were replaced by a set of modern 27” alloy rimmed wheels and I managed to obtain a single Sugino crankset that was more in keeping than the Custom crank was .

WP_20160122_017

Pollard

 

I also swapped the original very short stem and bars over for a nice set of G.B Maes bars and a lugged stem to give me a better position on the bike , the original brake levers have been re fitted along with new cables . The only other original part as far as I am aware of is the domed Reynolds alloy seat post that looks to carry a 1951 date code .

13501565_1099338913471606_8201522311916302871_n

Pollard

So far I have ridden approx 120 miles on this set up and it rides nice enough but a fine tune here and there wouldn’t go amiss to aid smoothness , I wouldn’t mind keeping an eye out for a wider ratio rear cassette in either 5 or 6 speeds just to make hill climbing slightly easier than present .

I doubt very much that I will repaint the frame and rebuild with correct period parts as I don’t personally like that idea much as the time trying to track period parts down can be awfully long winded and then is it worth it in the long run .

4 thoughts on “1950’s Pollard Confirmed

  1. Mart, I think this needs a period colour respray with new decals etc.,
    Once that’s done it’ll tell you what comes next – period or modern groupset

  2. Is this your first bike that is older than you? I’m with you on the topic of a total restoration. I’m still in a quandary about my Soens. It has been repainted and has the wrong decals, but it’d got to have an interesting history. Personally, I like to keep them safe and lively while maintaining their history and uniqueness. There is a tag line on one of the C & V forums that I particularly like, “Appreciate a good vintage bike and ride ride it like you stole it!”.

    Cheers,

  3. Van no the Raleigh was my first older than me bike actually my single speed Pollard could be the first but i have no idea how old that is and seeing as its been repainted before i got it it doesnt look old .

    I like that tag line for sure

Leave a Reply

