Latest Arrival

This weekend should see the latest arrival to my stable , it’s a late 1970’s Motobecane with Vitus Tubing in what has been described to me as nice original condition by its 2nd owner and that will make me the 3rd owner of this great machine .

Motobecane Mirage

From what I can make out it has led a rather sheltered life with the previous owner claiming he didn’t use it much as just after buying it he discovered it was a shade on the big side for him at 59cm . It is meant to have had an overhaul about 2 years ago and from what I have seen that looks about right , once it has completed a couple of short 1.5 – 2 mile rides it will commence with doing a bit of commuting that will add just over 6 miles a day to its running total .

According to Wikipedia “Motobécane was a French manufacturer of bicycles, mopeds, motorcycles, and other small vehicles, established in 1923. “Motobécane” is a compound of “moto”, slang for motorcycle; “bécane” is slang for “bike.”In 1981, Motobécane filed for bankruptcy and was purchased by Yamaha and reformed in 1984 as MBK. The French company continues to make motorscooters.It has no relation to Motobecane USA, which imports bicycles from Taiwan manufactured to their specification by Kinesis Industry Co. Ltd. under the Motobécane trademark “

It’s only my 2nd Motobecane that I have offered for sale as they do not appear that often and when they do they usually get snatched up quite quickly , so will have to see . The previous one was a pale blue “ Nomad” if I remember rightly but please do not quote me on that and from memory it rode well if not a bit on the heavy side .

I am hoping that like their French cousins Peugoet, this latest one will be a nice relaxing to ride kind of bike , rather than one of those machines that just make you want to ride as fast as you can no matter what or where you are .

A lot of people steer clear of French bikes due to slightly odd threading and odd size seat posts a lot of the earlier ones had , so remember that if you are buying just a frame set . I have always found 70 & 80’s Peugeot’s make excellent commuting bikes due to built like a tank reputation and the comfortable ride they provide , they also carry single speed conversions very easily .

Peugoet P6GP

I think I would like to spend a week trawling through France buying bikes as there seem to be lots of different brands that have never made it across the channel in large amounts , now I am sure some of these will be more hassle than they are worth but they can’t be all bad surely . I have this image of an onion seller riding along selling his wares and then once they are all sold he lets me buy his bike cheaply for a few Francs or Euro’s .

basque-beret-onion-sellers

By the time you have read this the Motobecane in question should be firmly tucked away in our garage ready for doing some miles next week , and I will update you all about the specification of it then along with a few more pics for us all to drool over

One thought on “Latest Arrival

  1. Another nice bike mon ami, I don’t think you would get the 2 Johnny onions in the photo to part with their bikes for a few francs as they look tough customers to me.

Leave a Reply

