Santa’s Bike

Well its coming towards the time of year where Santa swaps his road bike for some Reindeer and a sleigh

Snowmans Sigma

The subject of today’s waffling was this rather nice Sigma badged bike I owned for a while and it was my main commuting bike for most of its time with me , it arrived via a local seller on e bay who had it rather poorly listed so a really cheeky low bid secured the frameset .

Sigma Frameset

Upon inspection it was duly noticed that the seat post was either seized or as the seller described it “ as a bonded in affair” either way soon as I touched the what looked like an alloy post it just disentergrated , but the really strange thing was that it was an alloy of some description that’s for sure , I took the decision to try and remove what was left of the post out of the frame but I could not tell how much was inserted in the frame .

Sigma Seat tube

Normally I try and slice the stem and then peal out the long strips as I go around but for some strange reason this would only allow me to cut about 1 inch down the length of the tube ! So I took the rash decision of trying to drill as much of the stuck post as I could out of the frame , so purchased an as near as poss sized drill bit to do the job . Once again it came to a halt with just about an inch and half removed . So I took the decision to try and see what and if I could secure a post of some description in the frame .

I had managed to remove enough of the old post to be clear of the seat tube slot and clamp area and was amazed to find that an older style non micro adjust seatpost would fit inside what was remaining of the post deep in the frame if I turned it upside down ! I then chopped this post down so as it gave me the right saddle to floor measurement I like and inserted a quill stem converter inside and clamped it up and then secured an old fashion seat clamp on to it complete with saddle .

Sigma Seatpost

Once this had been done it was time to decide what spec to build bike in to , and for whatever reason decided on a singlespeed as most of my miles were done on a fairly flat commuting route , once built it stayed in that format for all its time with me and many a happy mile was covered .

Sigma

I never did find out what material the frame was made from , the fork carried a Columbus sticker that’s for sure .

I cant remember what finally made me decide to sell this frame but it was sold off to a n other gent who informed me with in a few weeks of owning the frame he had managed to remove all of the seat post and had rebuilt the bike to use as his everyday bike .

sigma

Leave a Reply

